STRICTLY UNMARRIED TOO

What did you do?

What do you mean what did I do?

Please! Don’t give me that now!

What are you talking about? And why are you so cold towards me today?

She’d begun the trail of conversation. She had realized that she could not confront him. That she could not talk to him in person. She’d then decide to text him what she was feeling.

I was only gone for a day, Ty! A single day! And what, you take the first chance you get and sleep around?

What!

Bet you thought I would never find out, huh?

All this time I was worried that something was wrong. That something was eating you up. You had me all worried, and for what? A hunch!?

I wish! I found your wrapper. You weren’t as careful as you thought you were.

You know what, am upset too. Am mad at you for making me this worried for something that stupid!

Oh, am sorry! I must have used it and totally forgot.

Problem solved then.

On another day she would have cracked her ribs laughing at his perfect comeback for her sarcasm. But not that day! She was angry. And he’d just made it worse. Maybe she would leave after all.

Look, the only reason I’m still here was to listen to your side, assuming you had any. But I guess that was a total waste of time. I feel stupid being here. I’ll come back for my stuff some other time. But know this, you’ve hurt me.

She then broke down. All the tears she’d been holding back came gushing out of her eyes. They were hot and uncomfortable. V was shaking with rage. Ali got startled.

Come on baby. I didn’t mean to. You surprised me with your attack.

Just tell me what happened here. Please?

She could barely see the letters on her screen. She didn’t care if she got the spellings right… just the message.

You seriously believe I met a girl in a day, convinced her to come over, and then convinced her to let me sleep with her? V, there is lots of lady stuff here; bags, earrings, clothes… what kind of girl would agree to that?

I was hoping you’d give me a plausible lie to believe you didn’t do it.

I know you’ve made up your mind. You won’t believe anything I say. So here, that’s my closest friend’s number. I spent a good deal of yesterday with him. Talk to him and ask him.

That sounded desperate even to her. She knew she had to soften up a little.

Yea, like he would actually say “yes, he was with another girl yesterday”.

What do you want me to say, baby? I’m sorry I hurt you. But I have no idea where that wrapper came from…

V went silent. She had wanted to think it wasn’t him. But she found his explanations rather incomplete. Something was amiss. He tried to get her to talk, but she refused to relent. She was done. She was done talking, she was done wishing, she was done crying, and she was done listening… she just wanted to be left alone.

V, come on, talk to me.

She said nothing.

V, I’m sorry. Am sorry I made you cry. I’m sorry I got defensive when you asked. I’m so sorry for everything. Please talk to me. Say anything, please.

I’m in so much pain. I want it all to go away. I don’t know how though

I wouldn’t lie to you, V. I have no reason to cheat on you. I mean, why would I cheat on you then lie to you about it?

I don’t know… because we are both human?

But I didn’t, believe me, and am just as shocked as you are. Again, I’m sorry. I didn’t mean to hurt you. I know I’ve said that so many times now but I feel like I should. I’m sorry. And please, for the love of God, would you get off that floor?

They chatted for a while before she resigned. She stood up and got onto the bed. He wasn’t on it. He’d left the bed because of her. She asked him to join her later. When he did, she was sure to keep her distance. She knew she was probably making a mistake, but she only cared that she was feeling less pain then. Maybe she would feel better with time. Maybe she would handle the truth later, now that she had had a feel of it. But until then, she would let herself feel some peace. She would allow herself a break from all the trouble, and feel some tranquility. She hoped it never came to that.

Published by: andefwa

I say it as it is. I get into trouble a lot for this reason. but then again, am an artist. And that's just how it is in our world. I have trouble with expressing myself at times. so I find it easier to let it out in third, or fourth person hihi. that in itself is a secret i just said right there. so keep it that way,will you? :-P ;-)

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

